Newcastle United, Chelsea and Arsenal stars dropped as England’s XI v Wales revealed

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
England’s starting line-up to take on Wales in their World Cup Group B decider has been confirmed.

Newcastle United star Kieran Trippier is among the players to be left out of England’s starting XI to face Wales.

Gareth Southgate’s side take on their British neighbours at the Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium in their final World Cup Group B game.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Three Lions will qualify for the knockout stages if they avoid a defeat by a four-goal margin, although are eyeing a win that will guarantee top spot.

Southgate has opted to name four changes from the underwhelming goalless draw against USA on Friday night - with Trippier among those to drop out.

Chelsea pair Mason Mount and Raheem Sterling, plus Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, are also named among the substitutes.

Manchester City’s Kyle Walker replaces Trippier in the starting XI, while Phil Foden, Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson and Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford come in for Bukayo Saka, Mason Mount and Raheem Sterling.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Meanwhile, Magpies duo Callum Wilson and Nick Pope are also among the substitutes.

England XI: Jordan Pickford; Kyle Walker, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw; Declan Rice, Jordan Henderson, Jude Bellingham; Phil Foden, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford.

Subs: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Conor Gallagher, Jack Grealish, James Maddison, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale, Bukayo Saka, Kieran Trippier, Callum Wilson.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.