Newcastle United’s line-up versus Everton confirmed: Eddie Howe makes bold selection

Newcastle United’s starting XI to face Everton has been confirmed.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Newcastle United are unchanged from Sunday afternoon’s goalless draw with Manchester United.

Eddie Howe has opted against making changes for the Magpies’ second Premier League fixture in three days, with Tottenham Hotspur still to come at the weekend.

Nick Pope has played every minute of the league season, while Kieran Trippier and Miguel Almiron have started all 11 matches so far.

Fabian Schar and Sven Botman continue their centre-back partnership. Dan Burn retains his place at left-back.

Bruno Guimaraes, Sean Longstaff and Joelinton form a three-man midfield. Callum Wilson leads the line with Jacob Murphy and Almiron either side.

Newcastle United head coach Eddie Howe. (Photo by Henry Browne/Getty Images)Newcastle United head coach Eddie Howe. (Photo by Henry Browne/Getty Images)
Newcastle United head coach Eddie Howe. (Photo by Henry Browne/Getty Images)

Newcastle head into tonight’s game with the best defensive record in the Premier League - with only nine goals conceded.

“It’s a compliment to the players and their mentality towards defending,” Howe said on Tuesday. We were of the mindset that we want to defend as a team right from the strikers to the goalkeeper and you can see that in the way we’ve played this season.

“The collective ambition is to be a very good team in and out of possession, It’s an ever-changing thing, we can’t rest on our laurels or take what we’ve done at this point for granted. Every challenge is so unique in the Premier League and now we come up against an Everton team that will give us a different test.”

Newcastle United XI: Nick Pope, Kieran Trippier, Fabian Schar, Sven Botman, Dan Burn, Bruno Guimaraes, Joelinton, Sean Longstaff, Miguel Almiron, Jacob Murphy, Callum Wilson. Subs: Loris Karius, Jamaal Lascelles, Jonjo Shelvey, Jamal Lewis, Matt Targett, Chris Wood, Ryan Fraser, Joe Willock, Elliot Anderson.