Newcastle United’s starting line-up vs Crystal Palace: Eight changes as Callum Wilson misses out

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Newcastle United’s starting XI to face Crystal Palace in the Carabao Cup has been confirmed.

Eddie Howe has named eight changes to his Newcastle United starting XI for tonight’s third round Carabao Cup clash with Crystal Palace - but there’s no Callum Wilson in the matchday squad.

The Magpies striker has been suffering from illness after withdrawing at half-time during the 4-1 win at Southampton on Sunday. Chris Wood, the man who replaced him and scored at St Mary’s, leads the line with Allan Saint-Maximin and Elliot Anderson either side.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jonjo Shelvey and Javier Manquillo make their first starts of the campaign, while Howe has recalled the likes of Jamaal Lascelles, Matt Targett and Joelinton following the Brazilian’s one-match suspension Nick Pope, Dan Burn and Sean Longstaff are the only players to retain places.

Howe hinted at changes during his pre-match press conference. He said on Tuesday. “We’ve got a combination of a few situations. “We’ve got a lot of players that are eager to play and show their qualities.

“We do have a number of games this week - a very tight turnaround of three games in six games - so we’ll try and make the right call for the team while acknowledging that we are desperate to progress in the cup. I’ve got to make those choices and get the balance of the team right.”

Newcastle United XI: Nick Pope, Javier Manquillo, Jamaal Lascelles, Dan Burn, Matt Targett, Jonjo Shelvey, Sean Longstaff, Joelinton, Elliot Anderson, Allan Saint-Maximin, Chris Wood. Subs: Loris Karius, Kieran Trippier, Sven Botman, Fabian Schar, Jamal Lewis, Jacob Murphy, Miguel Almiron, Joe Willock, Bruno Guimaraes.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.