Team England Commonwealth Games 2022: Full rundown of all of the athletes from Newcastle who will be competing

The 2022 Commonwealth Games are just around the corner.

The 2022 Commonwealth Games opening ceremony will take place in just a few days.

With thousands of the world’s best athletes descending on the city the event is set to put on some of the best sporting shows we will see this year.

Team England has pulled together a stellar team of athletes from all across the country.

So, which Team England athletes are from the North East?

Here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming competition.

When are the Commonwealth Games?

The Commonwealth Games opening ceremony will begin in Birmingham on Thursday 28 July 2022.

The games will run until the closing ceremony which is scheduled for 8 August 2022, in which all 72 participating countries will return to the Alexander Stadium.

The Commonwealth Games Federation flag will be handed over to representatives of Victoria, the hosts of the 2026 Commonwealth Games.

Where are the Commonwealth Games held?

The event will take place in Birmingham for 2022, the sporting competitions are scheduled to take place at the following locations across the city:

  • Alexander Stadium, Birmingham
  • Birmingham Arena
  • Cannock Chase Forest
  • Coventry Stadium and Arena (Ricoh Arena)
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground
  • Lee Valley VeloPark
  • The National Exhibition Centre (NEC)
  • Sandwell Aquatics Centre 
  • Smithfield
  • Sutton Park
  • University of Birmingham Hockey and Squash Centre
  • Victoria Park
  • Victoria Square
  • Warwick
  • West Park

Which Newcastle athletes are representing Team England?

Jamie Adamson from Bishop Auckland will be playing in Rugby Sevens as part of Team England for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Adamson was first called into the England Sevens set-up in 2019 – playing in Lodz, Poland.

Covid-19 then got in the way of more regular appearances in the England jersey.

However, Adamson had done enough in that initial spell to impress and earn himself a full-time contract two years later, after having to turn to invitational tournaments while studying at Durham University.

Rugby Sevens is a smaller sided version of Rugby Union which typically takes place between teams of 15 players each.

What are the Commonwealth Games?

The Commonwealth Games are often referred to as the Friendly Games.

The competition is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations.

The event was first held in 1930 and with the exception of 1942, and 1946, the event has taken place every four years since.

Six teams have competed at every Commonwealth Games since the inaugural tournament of 1930 which took place in Hamilton, New Zealand.

The six teams that competed in the first games were Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales.

The last country to enter the modern Commonwealth was Rwanda, who joined in 2009.

A spokesperson for the group said: The Commonwealth is home to 2.5 billion people, and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.

“32 of our members are small states, including many island nations.

“Our member governments have agreed to shared goals like development, democracy and peace.

“Our values and principles are expressed in the Commonwealth Charter.

The Commonwealth’s roots go back to the British Empire. But today any country can join the modern Commonwealth.”

Which countries participate in the Commonwealth Games?

In total 72 teams will take part in the 2022 Games. The total number consists of 54 countries and 18 territories.

Here is the full list of every team taking part in the 2022 Commonwealth Games is listed below:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh 
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Eswatini
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Ireland
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Helena
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Wales
  • Zambia