Update on Newcastle Wetherspoon pubs as chain announces major closure risks

The future of The Five Swans, The Keel Row, The Quayside and The Mile Castle has been confirmed.

All four JD Wetherspoon pubs in the Newcastle city centre will survive major cuts being made by the pub chain.

A total of 32 Wetherspoon sites have been put up for sale as the group, founded by Tim Martin, looks to cut costs amidst the rise in the cost of living.

The chain has labelled the news a "commercial decision" as the cost of staff wages and repair works climb - the group had previously reported it could face losses of £30 million.

Wetherspoon spokesman Eddie Gershon said: "On occasion Wetherspoon does put some of its pubs up for sale. This is a commercial decision. We understand that customers and staff will be disappointed with it."

In the Newcastle city centre, The Five Swans, The Keel Row, The Quayside and The Mile Castle will also survive cuts and continue to trade.

The Five Swans won’t be part of the closures (Image: Google Streetview)

It's largely good news for the North East, with all venues in Newcastle, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Gateshead not being put up for sale.

The majority of pubs being put on the market are in London, but there are two in the North East that are for sale.

One is Water House in Durham and the other is Resolution in Middlesbrough.

The full list of Wetherspoon pubs being put for sale are:

  1. Barnsley – Silkstone Inn
  2. Beaconsfield – Hope & Champion
  3. Bexleyheath – Wrong ‘Un
  4. Bournemouth – Christopher Creeke
  5. Cheltenham – Bank House
  6. Durham – Water House
  7. Halifax – Percy Shaw
  8. Hanham – Jolly Sailor
  9. Harrow – Moon on the Hill
  10. Hove – Cliftonville Inn
  11. London Battersea – Asparagus
  12. London East Ham – Miller's Well
  13. London Eltham – Bankers Draft
  14. London Forest Gate – Hudson Bay
  15. London Forest Hill – Capitol
  16. London Hornsey – Toll Gate
  17. London Holborn – Penderel's Oak
  18. London Islington – Angel
  19. London Palmers Green – Alfred Herring
  20. Loughborough – Moon & Bell
  21. Loughton – Last Post
  22. Mansfield – Widow Frost
  23. Middlesborough – Resolution
  24. Purley – Foxley Hatch
  25. Redditch – Rising Sun
  26. Sevenoaks - Sennockian
  27. Southampton – Admiral Sir Lucius Curtis
  28. Stafford – Butler's Bell
  29. Watford – Colombia Press
  30. West Bromwich – Billiard Hall
  31. Willenhall – Malthouse
  32. Wirral – John Masefield