'I think' - Former Premier League official hits out at Nottingham Forest v Newcastle United controversy

There was one major talking point following Newcastle United's 3-2 win at Premier League rivals Nottingham Forest on Saturday.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher believes Newcastle United were fortunate not to concede a penalty in Saturday's 3-2 win at Premier League rivals Nottingham Forest.

The moment of controversy arrived as the two sides had shared four goals with the hour-mark approaching after efforts from Magpies duo Bruno Guimaraes and Fabian Schar were cancelled out by equalisers from Forest wingers Anthony Elanga and Callum Hudson-Odoi.

Newcastle United newsletter

The hosts believed they should have been handed a chance to take the lead for the first time in the game when a long free-kick from former United goalkeeper Matz Sels released striker Taiwo Awoniyi in on goal. The former Union Berlin frontman held of the challenge of Sven Botman and rounded the advancing Martin Dubravka but looked to have been upended by the Magpies stopper as the ball ran harmlessly out of play.

The City Ground faithful immediately looked towards on-field referee Anthony Taylor for the award of a penalty but all protests were waved away. A VAR check also failed to provide the decision Forest wanted and Newcastle went on to claim all three points thanks to Guimaraes' second goal of the day.

Magpies legend Alan Shearer admitted he felt his former club had been fortunate over the decision not to penalise Dubravka - and former Premier League referee Gallagher also stressed Forest could and should have been awarded a penalty after the incident.

“I think it’s a penalty and I can understand the referee not giving it from his angle,” he told Sky Sports.

“When you see the replay, I think Dubravka lifts his arm up, which he doesn’t have to and that’s what causes the fall. That’s why I thought it was a penalty because it was down, and I understand if the referee says no then, when he brings it up I think that’s when VAR sees it on the replay and that’s why I thought it was a penalty because I think he quite clearly brings his arm up, which he doesn’t have to do.

"There are a number of factors. Maybe the referee has fed back saying he saw it quite clearly and feels he’s just gone over the goalkeeper and pushed the ball too far - but I think there (Dubravka’s arm raised) is why it’s a penalty.”