Newcastle United star named North East Football Writers Player of the Year

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
The Newcastle United defender follows in the footsteps of some familiar faces in landing the regional award.

Newcastle United star Kieran Trippier has followed in the footsteps of Magpies team-mates Bruno Guimaraes and Fabian Schar by being named as North East Football Writers Player of the Year.

The former Atletico Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur defender endured a somewhat challenging end to 2023 - but has been a model of consistency for the vast majority of the first two years of his time as a Magpie. The 46-times capped England international was the first signing following a PIF-led takeover of Newcastle as the Magpies’ new owners embarked on a hectic January transfer window to help Eddie Howe’s side preserve their Premier League status during the second half of the 2021/22 season.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Hailed at the time as a ‘transformative signing’, Trippier really came to the fore during his first full season at St James Park as the Magpies secured a top four finish in the Premier League and reached their first major cup final since 1999.  The 33-year-old remains a trusted figure for Howe and the Magpies boss has never been shy in showing his admiration for the man he first worked with during his time as manager of Burnley.

Speaking during the summer, Howe said: "When you look back, Kieran was the perfect signing. We felt that at the time.  We felt he would be a huge lift for us in our relegation battle, to sign someone who'd just won a domestic cup competition, someone with the experience – he's an international – we felt he'd be the perfect fit.  Obviously, he got injured straight away near enough and that was a huge blow. But then this year, he's played the majority of the season and he's been incredible for us.”

Trippier’s consistency and reliability has now seen the United star see off competition from Sunderland winger Jack Clarke and Magpies team-mate Joelinton to become the NEFWA’s Player of the Year and he will be recognised at their annual awards night at Ramside Hall in March.  Magpies youngster Lewis Miley missed out on the Young Player of the Year award after Middlesbrough midfielder Hayden Hackney came out on top in the vote.

Durham Women defender Sarah Robson has won the women’s senior award for the third year consecutive year, narrowly beating her former team-mate Bridget Galloway, who is now part of Becky Langley's Newcastle United side. Sunderland youngster Katy Watson is the first ever recipient of the women’s young player of the year award.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The North East Football Writers Association player of the year annual awards dinner will be held on Sunday, March 3 at the Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf Club. Tickets details are available from Claire Stephen 01913865282 [email protected].

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.